Because it makes you feel better than you think it will…it has to

When I told a friend that I was heading out of the city this weekend, off to a Triathlon Training Camp with my team, Achilles International, he asked why I was doing this.     At first it took me a minute to understand his question.   He elaborated, “There are things I like to do, but I don’t feel the need to become competitive about them.”     So I explained that I am not doing this to compete against anyone.   I “do it” because 1. it feels good to get out in the fresh air, to enjoy the scenery of wherever I am (usually in Central Park or running along the edges of NYC) to take my own body out for a spin, like any motor needs.     2.  It feels good when I come to a stop, to refuel and relax.  3.  The most important reason is because I have diabetes.  It puts my mind at ease, knowing that I just did something great for my insides.   Staying in the best shape I can, without overdoing it, gives me a sense – perhaps an illusion – of control over my own body.    Any medical condition can, if you let it, give you feelings of trepidation about the potential for a reduction in your own physical capability to enjoy life to its fullest.   Sure nobody gets the gift of being good at everything.   But it isn’t about being #1.  Or even #2, for most people.   Once you find something you enjoy, you just want to keep doing it as much as you can.   it really is the journey of practicing or training.  As much as I appreciate and value the physical rewards of feeling good and taking care of my health, I have gained in non-physical ways that I had not anticipated.     More on that in my next post, because now, dear readers, I must pack for my 3 day adventure with Team Achilles at the Crystal Mineral Springs Resort.  

3 thoughts on “Because it makes you feel better than you think it will…it has to

  1. Way to go, Zoe! I love your attitude. And for all of us who have to do so many extra things to simply get through a day, sometimes pushing ourselves to do even more than average is a way to push back, right? 🙂

    Thanks for being an inspiration!

    • Thank you Scott! I just noticed I had a message waiting for me! Thanks so much for reading and commenting too. Your support means a lot to me. Hope to see you in Orlando

Leave a Reply

