29

29. When you hear someone say the number 29, what comes to mind? Is that the answer to the question “How old are you?” Anything is still possible at age 29. No one thinks of 29 as old. You are young and desirable. I was 29 when I was 29. Occasionally I am 29 years old, when someone asks me – because you just don’t ask a woman of a certain age how old she is. That is an unlisted number. But I was 29 a few days ago. Really, I was 29mg/dl. 29 is an undesirable number if you are a person with diabetes. You want to be 80-120 mg/dl which is generally considered normal, non-diabetic fasting range. When you are dependent upon insulin to keep you alive, you live with the ongoing risk that it also could possibly kill you within 4 hours of taking it. There is a narrow margin of error for PWD who are on relatively low doses. The lower your dose, the more sensitive you are to insulin. Sensitivity varies from individual to individual based on many factors: for example, weight, resistance to insulin, what you eat, time of day, level of activity, temperature conditions, whether or not you are sick with something else, stress, menstrual cycles, pregnancy, oral and other medications. One drop of insulin drops my BG approximately 75-80 mg/dl slowly over 4 hours, when sitting still. That’s a tiny drop of insulin for a big drop in blood sugar. Nothing bad happened, thank goodness. It snuck up me while I was laying on my bed. I did not have my CGM on because, well that’s another story. I did sense hypo symptoms, I was calm, I tested my blood, and then I panicked. Like when the broken leg doesn’t hurt until you look at it? Yeah. So I went straight for the huge bottle of apple juice and my bottle of Glucolift, sat down and started guzzling. Within a few minutes I was feeling it go up, and I kept testing until I reached 82 mg/dl about 20 minutes after the 29 mg/dl reading. I was 29 once before, and 32 once, and 42 and 49 many times, so I had confidence that I would recover. But it was scary. I look for patterns, and invariably when I have a severe low, like this one, it is because I ate at a restaurant and miscalculated the carbohydrate content. Eating out is also the usual culprit of severe highs, because I miscalculated by underestimating the glucose or carbohydrate in the food. That’s why I like to eat at home, where I know exactly what’s in the food because I prepared it. In Real Life: I prefer to revisit 29 only in my photo albums, not in blood glucose. I aspire to be be 80-something with an 80 mg/dl-something average blood glucose level. In diabetes speak, it is hip to be 80-120 mg/dl. #showmeyourG

Leave a Reply

